Books, Science/Math

Perfect Picture Book Friday: Kakapo Rescue

TITLE: KAKAPO RESCUE: SAVING THE WORLD’S STRANGEST PARROT (Scientists in the Field Series)

AUTHOR: Sy Montgomery

PHOTOGRAPHER: Nic Bishop

PUBLICATION INFO: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2010

ISBN: 978-0-618-49417-0

SOURCE: Personal library

INTENDED AUDIENCE: grades 5-8

GENRE: picture book (nonfiction)

OPENING and SYNOPSIS:

“It’s hours past midnight. You’d think any self-respecting parrot would be asleep. But not Lisa.”

Sy Montgomery follows conservationists to Codfish Island in New Zealand, a stone’s throw from Antarctica. The conservationists’ mission: to expand the population of the kakapo, the “rarest and heaviest parrot, the only flightless night-active parrot, and undoubtedly the strangest parrot in the world,” as Montgomery writes. By 1995, only 51 kakapo existed anywhere on earth.

THEMES/TOPICS: endangered species, science, conservation

WHY I LIKE THIS BOOK: I love the Scientist in the Field series. THE MIGHTY MARS ROVERS was another in the series. Through the books, students can actually learn what different scientist jobs are like on a daily basis.

RESOURCES/ACTIVITIES:

  • Kakapo Recovery has a wonderful Kids’ Page. Read ranger diaries. Hear the kakapo’s unique calls.
  • Teacher Sharon Stock has designed a number of classroom activities, which are available on the series Web site.

Every Friday bloggers review “Perfect Picture Books.” Find a complete list of book reviews organized by topic, genre and blogger at author Susanna Leonard Hill’s site.

19 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday: Kakapo Rescue”

  1. This looks like a very interesting book and a very interesting series that I am not familiar with. I love nature books! I will have to check this one out and look into the rest of the series. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love books for kids about endangered species. And the Scientist in the Field series may just excite a child to want to get involved or become a conservationist, scientist etc. some day. Nice choice.

  3. Shame on me I can’t remember that bird. I’d better get reading. Thanks, Kirsten. Your comment about McDonalds was sweet btw.

  4. Oh, I Iove books that bring attention to endangered species… especially ones I’ve never heard of! This sounds really terrific, Kirsten, as does the whole series. I remember when you posted the Mars Rover one. I will look forward to some others, should you happen to feel like posting any. I’m always so happy to add non-fiction books to our list, as well as picture books for older readers!

  5. I had not heard about an endangered parrot – or one that could not fly or stayed up at night. THis is the sort of unusual animal that kindergarten kids find fascinating. I will have to look them up. Thanks

  6. Wonderful to see a review about one of our very own New Zealand birds… yay for you Kirsten. Love the cover of this book and must check it out in our library. Another New Zealand bird you would be interested in and is so unique is the Pukeko. Colourful and ugly..lol. Thanks for sharing Kirsten.

    1. The book mentions lots of unique species, including the Fiordland Penguin. I’ll have to do some research on those and the Pukeko. The book definitely makes me want to come visit.

  7. I hadn’t heart of Perfect Picture Book Friday. What a wonderful resource! I have bookmarked it and will have to check out some of the books to read to my students and perhaps review for my blog.

    1. Happy to help, Allison. We’d love to have you join us. There’s no commitment, except to the format. You can post as frequently or as rarely as you like. Susanna’s site has more info.

Leave a comment