Uncategorized

Perfect Picture Book Friday: A GOOD TRADE

Normally, I review nonfiction picture books, and I have a fantastic one on order. I hope I’ll have it in time for next week. In the meantime, the brightly colored cover of this  historical fiction caught my eye at the library.

TITLE: A Good Trade

AUTHOR: Alma Fullteron

ILLUSTRATOR: Karen Patkau

PUBLICATION INFO: Pajama Press, March 15, 2013

ISBN: 978-0986949593

SOURCE:  library

INTENDED AUDIENCE: ages 5 – 8

GENRE: historical fiction

OPENING and SYNOPSIS:

“In a small Ugandan garden, a single poppy blooms white in a sea of green.”

This quiet story follows a Ugandan boy as he pumps a day’s supply of water at the village well. Although the day starts ordinarily enough, this day is special. The aid workers’ truck has come with a gift.

THEMES/TOPICS: culture, gratitude, geographic

WHY I LIKE THIS BOOK: Patkau’s bright illustrations originally caught my eye. I grabbed this lyrical book to teach my children about a corner of the world they have no other way to experience. Fullerton shows life in this war-torn part of the world in an age-appropriate way.

RESOURCES/ACTIVITIES:

  • I think the best activity would be to grab a nonfiction book about the country to learn more. There were plenty on my library’s shelves. You could also go online to learn more at sites like TIME for Kids, which depicts a day in the life of another Ugandan child, Racheal.
  • Using Kato’s day and Racheal’s day, map your day. Draw a picture or write what you do in the morning, afternoon and evening. How is your day the same as Racheal’s and Kato’s? How is your day different?
  • Play a Ugandan children’s game. Send A Cow has a list …. here.

Every Friday bloggers review “Perfect Picture Books.” Find a complete list of book reviews organized by topic, genre and blogger at author Susanna Leonard Hill’s site.

15 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday: A GOOD TRADE”

  1. I saw this book advertised somewhere else online. It looks great! Sounds like a similar story with Linda Sue Park’s A Long Walk to Water.

    1. I haven’t read Linda Sue Park’s book. I’ll have to grab it. Although this book begins with a walk to water, the main action is really the surprise that he finds in the aid workers’ jeep. It’s a beautiful story.

    1. Jarm, we are hoping to take our children to other parts of the world some day when they are bit older. My husband lived in Africa growing up, and I lived in Saudi Arabia and Germany. I definitely want to raise kids with a global perspective.

Leave a comment