Books

Perfect Picture Book Friday: COUNT ON CULEBRA

Author: Ann Whitford Paul
Illustrator: Ethan Long
Publication Info: Holiday House, 2008
ISBN: 978-0823421244
Source: Library copy
Intended audience: ages 4 and up
Genre: picture book (fiction)
Themes/topics: Friendship, language learning
Opening and synopsis: ”Iguana stumbled on a stone.
‘OWWWWWWWWWWW!’ she cried.
Tortuga poked out of his shell. ‘What’s wrong?’”
Iguana stubs her toe on a rock. There is no way she can make her cactus butter candies now. But Culebra has a plan that will have her feeling better in no time. But the friends will need un rolling pin, dos kettles and much, much more.
Why I like this book: I normally feature nonfiction books on Perfect Picture Book Fridays. However, this series has become quite popular in our house, and this book is the hands-down favorite. My three-year-old thinks Culebra’s antics are hilarious. He loves to count along in Spanish too. I appreciate the fact that the Spanish words are woven seamlessly into the text. Children can decipher the meaning from the text itself, though a glossary is included.
Resources/activities: 
  • Find Ann Whitford Paul’s classroom activities here.
  • The book itself has a recipe for dulces made with butter, peanut butter, graham crackers and powdered sugar. Yum!

Every Friday bloggers review “Perfect Picture Books.” Find a complete list of book reviews organized by topic, genre and blogger at author Susanna Leonard Hill’s site.

29 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday: COUNT ON CULEBRA”

  1. I love Ann Whitford Paul’s Writing Picture Books, which is right here beside me. I’d love to read this fun tale. Thanks Kirsten!

  2. Now this is serendipity two fold. I met up with a 12x12er this morning for coffee and we were pouring over an Ann Whiteford Paul’s book about writing. Also I feel this book you have reviewed would be an excellent book for me to start learning spanish as hubby and I are heading for South America early next year. I’m heading back to the library later… thanks for sharing Kirsten.

    1. Look for all four books. The other titles are: Tortuga in Trouble, Manana Iguana and Fiesta Fiasco. It’s a great way to learn Spanish. And Ann’s book on writing is THE BEST!

  3. Gosh, I practically fell over to see a fiction book here 🙂 But this looks like a lot of fun! I love that it has the recipe, and encourages learning Spanish! Thanks so much for adding it to the list! 🙂

    1. I really wanted to add the whole series. Maybe I’ll review more in the future. I figure they fit in since they are “learning” books (not that you can’t learn things from most books.”)

  4. I am another big fan of Ann Whitford Paul’s book about writing. And she funds the grant for the Barbara Karlin Grant Runner-up!!! I have read this book, and I am so glad you added it to the list!

    1. It’s a lot of fun. Right now, my mom is visiting. She took Spanish in college, so she is the top choice for reading it right now.

Leave a comment